Yoss’s response

November 12, 2007 at 2:18 pm Leave a comment

[Imc-uk-features] ‘Anti-semitism’ and the Greenstein/Atzmon bunfight

yossarian yossarian at aktivix.org
Sat Nov 3 03:47:15 PDT 2007

freethepeeps at aktivix.org wrote:

Quoting yossarian :
“I think you missed my point, so I’ll make it a little clearer. Are you
endorsing the existence of a global Zionist conspiracy for world
domination as posited by Atzmon (among others)? Or not? You do tend to
ignore questions like this one, so please answer it straight.”

I think Israel packs a disproportionate punch for a country of its size. I think
the close links between the neo-cons and zionists have had unpleasant
consequences. I think it is legitimate to investigate the impact of the
pro-Israel lobby on USA foreign policy. I am not surprised that there are
anti-zionists who have focussed on these issues. Despite that, the answer to
your question is no.

Good, that’s what I thought 🙂 I agree with all of those assessments.
And I didn’t mean to ignore the Judith Butler article you forwarded,
just that it raised a complex set of questions that I don’t have time to
respond to via email (it’s quite a long, complex article).

“So, I guess I need to ask: why are you reading stuff on this site? Why
would you quote it to us as a good source to find a balanced perspective
on Zionism? And is this the sort of material you think it’d be good to
have in our newswire? I sure don’t.”

I remembered the Blankfort article and googled for it. Had I usewd different search terms, I might well have clicked on this link:
http://www.indymedia.org.uk/en/2006/04/338404.html or this one:
http://nyc.indymedia.org/es/2006/04/68264.shtml or this one:
http://www.omahaimc.org/newswire/display/267/index.php

I didn’t look at the rest of the site, I had things I needed to do.

Ok, fair enough – it does highlight the problem that although the
question of the role of zionism as a political ideology should be
examined, we need to be really careful about how we approach it. I
think there’s a liberatory aspect to anti-zionism (if you take zionism
to be the chief ideology which legitimizes the oppression of the
Palestinians), but there is an extremely dark flip-side to it, which we
need to be on the lookout for. The question of where to draw the line
between the two is in my opinion what we’re arguing about here.

If you want to block this one, that’s your right, because that’s our
process. I still think that maybe you and I could get together
sometime, outside of the context of one of our on-list fights, and talk
over a beer, because usually it’s you and I who end up sniping at each
other on the list (something I don’t enjoy, especially as I’ve got to
know you more at the noborder camp). If we could come to some kind of
agreement as to where to draw the line, it’d save everybody a lot of
trouble.

The idea would be not to short-circuit the democratic process of
decision making on the lists, but to try and figure out what is
acceptable on the site, and maybe present that to the list as a
proposal. It’d also maybe save a lot of time at the network meeting (if
we ever have one) if we could formulate something together – and if we
had to argue for hours before we reached some kind of conclusion we
could do it with beer and without killing a whole network meeting
talking about this issue (we’ve got lots more important stuff to
discuss, I think). If we don’t do it, I think we’d spend an equivalent
amount of time in adversarial email debates anyway, and probably have
less chance of coming to some conclusion (contentious email debates
often degenerate pretty quickly).

Anyway, just an idea,

Y

Entry filed under: freethepeeps, Indymedia, yossarian.

………. a block Gilad on Indymedia list

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
     
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


